Setting up the classroom

Standard

Today I have been working hard on setting up my classroom!


Here is my desk – tidy for once! I have this tucked in the back corner of the room. It’s my own personal space, but I never sit at it when the children are in the room! You can see my poetry books, NaNoWriMo winner’s certificates, magic wands, a little sparkly heart-shaped mirror I got as a present from one of the children, photo of my mum with Felix when he was one day old, and you may be able to see the little finger puppet – Pablo the Peruvian Thought Fox who used to help me teach Spanish when I taught Year 3!

Here’s the idea I got from @egalr’s NQT blog! One pencil pot for blunt pencils and one for sharp pencils! Children come up and swap a blunt one for a sharp one! I have Y6 classroom assistants who will be happy to sharpen the blunt ones for us 🙂

I don’t have any room for a proper reading corner, but I have covered a cupboard with this nice blanket and put out a selection of my most popular reading books along with my guided reading things.

This is my maths zone, featuring cubes, protractors, compasses, calculators, 3D shapes, dominoes, and the (rarely ever used) textbooks. I love having these things all on offer, especially during class maths when the resource managers are able to come up and collect anything they need. I’m only teaching maths in my own room twice a week as I will be taking my little group out to another room for their lessons. I have prepared a basket of equipment to take up with me, containing pencils, whiteboards, whiteboard pens and rulers.

Here is the class computer – I have also set up a mini display using the model Titanic we made last year, books and posters, including a book written by one of my class’s grandad!

Our classes this year are all named after British Olympians and Paralympians. I got an idea from @amyxxx21 about encouraging the children to aspire to the Olympic and Paralympic values – equality, excellence, courage, determination, inspiration, friendship and respect. This display should help us get off to a good start!

Here you can see all my tables set up! I am having 6 tables of 4 and 2 tables of 5 as I have 34 children over 8 tables – I find group work is best in small groups. Each table has a caddy of stationery and a basket of felt tip pens. On the back wall I have put up the shields that my class drew on the changeover day back in July, and I am keeping up my maths target board and literacy “planets” target board. On the maths board the children are aiming for layered targets and can move their darts up through the targets as they achieve them, with some aiming for platinum. In literacy, the children have their own individual targets and have a rocket that they colour in which moves up towards the planet each time they can show me they have achieved their writing target in a piece of work.

My windows have been fixed over the summer and now all open to let in the lovely fresh autumn air! Under the windows I have my exercise books sorted into boxes, which is very handy. You can also see on the radiator our class cuddly toys – Punky on the left and Steven Gerrard on the right. He doesn’t look much like Steven Gerrard but I won him in a “Name The Teddy” contest the year 6s were running a few years ago and that really is his name!

I had a great time setting my room up today and by the end of the day I was sitting there feeling very comfy and cosy. All it needs now is some great children to come along and do some learning!

4 responses »

  1. A young boy and his father went out fishing one nice morning. After a few quiet hours out in the boat, the boy became curious about the world around him. He looked up at his dad and asked “How do fish breath under water?” The father thought about it for a moment, then replied “I really don’t know, son.” The boy sat quietly from another moment, then asked his dad again, “How does our boat float on the water?” Once again his dad replied, “Don’t know, son.” Pondering his thoughts again, a short while later, the boy asks “Why is the sky blue?” Again, his dad replied, “Don’t know, son.” The inquiring boy, worried he was annoying his dad, asks this time “Dad, do you mind that I’m asking you all of these questions?” “Of course not son”, replied his dad, “How else are you ever going to learn anything?”
    I sometimes think that many posts and even whole web sites are much alike this story…

  2. Just picking up on the fact that you have the tables set up how they are, with the children facing each other. Do you find that the children are as productive as when they are sitting in rows? or more so? Just curious to know if you picked up on anything?

Leave a Reply

